The traveling nifty fifty is BACK!

Not only has the nifty fifty project been revived but it was revived with style.  Larry (crewl1) not only relaunched the project on New Year’s Day but he did it at the Rose Parade.  I’m looking forward to an exciting year of adventures.

I was fortunate to be the first recipient of the Traveling Nifty Fifty on it’s resurrection tour.  I recieved it over the 2012 New Year holiday weekend so I decided to take it along to the Rose Parade in Pasadena, California to take pictures of the event spectators.  The lens was a joy to use, and even though I rely on AF for most of my shooting it did not take long to become accustomed to MF with this lens.  The focusing on these old Pentax lenses is so buttery smooth and has just the right amount of resistance to help you achieve focus for the shot.  The lens also shows some wonderful blur in the out of focus areas.
I really enjoyed using it and am glad I was able to participate in its new journey.
Larry Navarro

Rose Parade, Pasadena, CA

Rose Parade, Pasadena, CA

Rose Parade, Pasadena, CA

Rose Parade, Pasadena, CA

Long Beach, CA

Long Beach, CA

Leave a comment